The car problem

I got an e-mail from Krzysztof Jucewicz from “FIZ” Sp. z o. o. (the company that is the back end of usaautosystems.pl site and handles the car shipment) that told me that because of lack of a car to fill up the container  I need to pay for for ROR (Roll on -Roll off, outside of a container) transport which costs additional $400. Another solution he suggested is to use another company’s service that would bring the container to Chojnice (about 100 miles from Gdynia) and then pay 780 PLN ($280) for transporting it to Gdynia to the workshop to have it modified. This smells bad – the cost of ROR is typically less than half of the container for which I have paid. I am trying to hope that this is not the beginning of the standard moving fraud where the moving company demands more and more money using the fact that they have the stuff. In response to the news I suggested that I will pick the car in Chojnice and arrange the modifications by myself. This is entirely possible as I can drive the car on Massachussets registration in Poland for 30 days. The only problem is to get some insurance agent to come to the customs office to get the liability insurance which may be a little bit more difficult in Chojnice than in Gdynia. We will see his response.

Update 09/09/2009: I got the answer from Jucewicz that he is OK that I pick the car in Chojnice and pay smaller comission. So it looks that my fears were unfounded for now.

One Response to “The car problem”

  1. autostry Says:

    I think that they are just using that as an excuse to get more money out of you.

Leave a comment